Skip to content

Keeping in touch with the Uh’s

August 2, 2009

42-15529175I find it interesting that three of the closet friends that I made in college and I all have names ending in “a”. I used to refer to our group as the “Uh” club since the “a” is pronounced, “uh”  as in banana (bə-nān’ə) .  After meeting orientation week in 1985, we have remained in touch for 24 years. There are two friends in particular that I see on a regular basis.

When I received an inquiry from a national woman’s magazine asking for examples of ways that women maintain relationships with college friends, I immediately sent an account of how the “a” club kept in touch. 

After graduation , we attempted to see each other on an annual or bi-annual basis. Despite the distance, we managed to remain in touch.  One of us lived in New York City most of her career.  The other was in grad school in California before moving to central New York .  I have lived in Birmingham for 20 years.  Here is a copy of what I sent to the magazine. 

1) S and I attended our Black Alumni Reunion on a bi-annual basis for a number of years. We also met in Charlottesvill for our 5 & 10 year class reunions. S, D, and I roomed together for our 15 year reunion. We were also joined by another friend “C” who lived in our dorm. Hopefully, we will all meet this summer for the 20th. All of us are in our 40’s with children under 5 so it should be interesting. C has older children and a child under 5.
2) S and/or D and I used to try to meet in Atlanta regularly. Usually they were on official business. Atlanta is only a few hours from Birmingham so it was always convenient for me to get to.
3) S & D traveled together from time to time. They would usually send me a post card.
4) Weddings were also a good means of connecting. I was in both of their weddings. S attended mine.
5) Baby showers have been another means of connecting. D attended the Hip Hop shower in Birmingham (see Hip & Funky Baby Showers). S attended D’s and perhaps D attended S’s.
6) Illness has also brought us together. One of us had an illness that lasted several months. The three of us reunited for a weekend of support.
7) D was in charge of a national conference and invited me to speak several years ago.  It was a great excuse to visit and work.
8) S and I met at Disney World with our nearly two year old boys. That was the first time they had met and that we had met each other’s sons.
9) Throughout the years C has also managed to meet us for a day or so. She married first and started having children right away so we didn’t see her often. Due to various circumstances, we have tried to connect more. C & D communicate quite frequently.

We continue to keep in touch via telephone. We are also trying out best to get to the 20 year reunion.   And guess what, I have established another “Uh” club with four friends with names ending in “a.”   I must write about “Uh’s” the next generation.

How do you keep in touch with old friends?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Katrina permalink
    August 3, 2009 7:57 pm

    Love it! I want to join the “uh” group!

  2. Katrina permalink
    August 3, 2009 7:58 pm

    And, just imagine, you did all of this “keeping up” before cell phones were prevalent and before Facebook and other social media sites were in existence. This is definitely true dedication to maintaining friendships.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      August 3, 2009 8:19 pm

      Thanks Katrina. They are very important to me.

  3. Joyce permalink
    August 4, 2009 11:56 am

    Loved this article, it takes someone who knows how to be a good friend to maintain good friends. I am still close with girl friends from high school (30 years this year) and college. I also love to make new friends and as we get older, it is easy to spot a keeper – which Bettina – you are one.

  4. Judith Byrd Ming permalink
    August 5, 2009 6:01 pm

    My friends from college,elementary school and family keep in touch in many ways through the years. We take trips together, weddings, baby showers, emails, facebook, write letters, send cards on special occassions and furnerals. We try to visit each other when we are in the same state.

    I have friends & family that we are staring on the 2nd generation of kids for weddings, baby showers etc. Now we are starting over again.

    I have friends for 50 yrs. I keep in touch with. We are always going back down memory lane.

    Aunt Judi

  5. Cynthia permalink
    August 9, 2009 12:45 pm

    Good stuff Bettina. Keeping in touch can be a challenge indeed. Well wishes to you as you continue making connections and offering inspiration to those who struggle in this area.

  6. Melvia permalink
    August 11, 2009 9:17 am

    Bettina, I can definitely relate! It is challenging to sustain friendships over time and distance, but they are so important. So many things change, but it seems great friends never really do!

    Can I join the local “a” club? lol

  7. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    August 11, 2009 9:51 am

    O.K. Melvia. I will ask MelviA if you can replace her in the group.

  8. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    August 13, 2009 9:59 pm

    Found a couple of more “Uh’s.” It is great to have friends.

Trackbacks

  1. UVA Club of Birmingham “Uh’s” « Lessons from an 80’s Alumna
  2. King Holiday Traditions « Urban Bred

Leave a comment