Skip to content

Too many candidates, so little information

August 5, 2009

Someone interviewed me recently regarding how I became active in the community.  I cannot remember a time when I wasn’t.  Between my parents’ Greek organizations (Delta Sigma Theta and Kappa Alpha Psi) and the Girl Scouts, I was always involved with something.  I ran for and held offices in school.  I learned how much I enjoyed the behind the scenes work when I was a PAC (political action committee) chair for a candidate at UVA.

I continued to get involved with politics on a local and national scale.  One of the most memorable activities was working with MTV’s Rock the Vote.  In exchange for registering voters, I received free tickets to see U2 and Run DMC at Legion Field.   I passed out Rock the Vote  material, registered voters and saw one of the best concerts of my life.  This happened to be around the same time that  Bill Clinton played the sax on Arsenio Hall.

I got involved with Obamamania despite the fact that I had not planned to vote for Obama.  One of my former students, Chris Mosely, has been a barometer for me.  He is heavily involved in the political process and sent daily emails about Obama.  I will at least listen to candidates he is supporting. When I went to get tickets to see the presidential hopeful,  I ended up volunteering.  His Birmingham volunteer coordinator, Alex whose last name escapes me, was persuasive.  I grilled him about why he was supporting Obama beyond the Harvard connection.

Some Birmngham-Southern students and some of my students at UA convinced me to continue to volunteer for getting out the vote and hosting parties in my home that were part of a campaign change America.   My husband kept giving me updates on primary results.  I finally relented and committed to Obama.

I am excited that Birmingham community organizations are offering opportunities to meet candidates running locally and statewide.   I know several of the candidates, but whether or not I am going to donate money or work on their behalf remains to be seen.   I have been contacted about donating funds to unproven candidates without knowing what their plans are.   Only a few candidates responded to my request for information.  Sheila Smoot sent an email with great information.  Mericka Coleman’s staff sent a video.  Earl Hilliard, Jr. and Iva Williams spoke with me via phone or in person.  I also attended a few events one official and one unofficial regarding Congressman Artur Davis’ run for Governor.

I realize people have to raise money, but can you give a sista some information before you ask for a donation?  Am I wrong?  Who are you supporting and why?  If you are a candidate, why should I support you?

I am Bettina Byrd-Giles and I approve this message.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    August 5, 2009 1:59 pm

    Andre Natta has gathered information for the City Council race http://bhamterminal.com/blog/2009/08/05/birmingham-city-council-candidates-2009/.

  2. Cherai permalink
    August 5, 2009 2:22 pm

    Agree with you – candidates (and their proxies) need to give one more information about what they plan to do. However, the backside is that the scenario changes once one gets into office. It’s not as easy to keep campaign promises you made on the trail when you’re NOT in office once you’re in the office. I think our president (who I also support) is finding this out the hard way.

  3. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    August 5, 2009 2:29 pm

    Yes. Merika’s Coleman is no longer an active candidate. However,her staff sent information during her campaign.

  4. Andre Todd permalink
    August 5, 2009 5:07 pm

    I agree with you totally! I was talking to a few people and I asked what has really changed since President Obama has been in Office? Not to say he is doing a bad job but that Poly-Tricks, I mean Politics is a Big game and you have to play no matter what you say or how far you stray!

  5. R.B. Walker permalink
    August 6, 2009 7:18 pm

    Ever heard of “blind” ambition?

  6. August 7, 2009 8:56 am

    AGREE!!!

  7. Judith Byrd Ming permalink
    August 7, 2009 11:47 am

    bettina,

    I agree!! You should not put the cart before the horse. Always do your home work on the person.

    Aunt Judi

Leave a comment