Skip to content

You know you are old school when…

December 28, 2009

We bought a new interactive video game for my son for Christmas.  He can dance and learn at the same time.  I was so excited.  I put everything together.  All I had to do was plug it into the TV.  It turns out that none of the TV’s in our house are equipped for it.  It made me think that I am really old school.   If you are also feeling old school, please complete this statement:  You know you are old school when…

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Milton Nash permalink
    December 28, 2009 4:33 pm

    … you can remember when the knob to turn the radio on/off was the same as the knob to adjust the volume ….

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 29, 2009 11:00 am

      LOL Milton. I had to have my younger cousins help me figure out how to navigate my i-Pod since I didn’t see the volume knob.

  2. Jeff Bempong permalink
    December 28, 2009 5:11 pm

    Your dental hygienist says, “My father told me about Caddy Shack.”

  3. peggy pusch permalink
    December 29, 2009 1:50 am

    you remember those little blue filters on the front of TV sets held with suction cups to avoid damage to our eyes.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 29, 2009 10:56 am

      Hi Peggy. I must investigate these filters.

  4. December 29, 2009 5:16 am

    when you remember telephones that had a dial, a busy signal and a wire attached to the wall. And you had to get up and actually walk across the room to turn the TV on or off, raise or lower the volume or change the channel. and FM radio was easy listening elevator music for old people!

    you remember when “internet” was one of ten or twelve selections, and the very last selection, on the menu for AOL.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 29, 2009 10:56 am

      Wow Todd. That IS old school. Did you notice that the JCCHS band had uniforms?

  5. Gloria Robinson permalink
    December 29, 2009 8:22 am

    you’re cleanig up and find some cassette tapes and VHS that you need to throw away or replace with CD’s/or put the songs on your IPOD or purchase DVD’s.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 29, 2009 10:55 am

      Girl, I keep hearing songs by Skyy that were on 8 Track.

      • Gloria Robinson permalink
        December 29, 2009 11:05 am

        No you didn’t go there with the 8 track did you????

  6. Shaun permalink
    December 29, 2009 11:16 am

    1. You remember when music came on vinyl and (ulp!) 8-tracks.
    2. While talking to children about how you started your career as a radio DJ, they say, “you had RECORDS?” (This didn’t happen to me but to a friend of mine, while we were doing a career / tutoring workshop together.)
    3. Kids come to a 70s-themed birthday party and tell you that Earth, Wind, and Fire sounds silly and really old.
    4. When teaching a Sunday School lesson about Martin Luther King, a kid says, “yeah, and when Martin Luther King saw what the police were doing to black people, he took out his cell phone and called his friends for help!”
    5. You download PacMan on your iPod for nostalgia’s sake… after all, it was all I played in jr. high school… and when you start playing you think, “this game is SO lame…”

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 29, 2009 12:10 pm

      I have to explain to kids that I used a typewriter until my second year in college.

      • Shaun permalink
        December 29, 2009 2:53 pm

        Oh, typewriters! Gosh, yes, I used one all the way through undergrad! I even typed papers for people. How’s this for old school: I went to this website (http://mytypewriter.com/index.aspx) in search of an antique typewriter to use in my decor, and I swear I recognize one of the typewriters… my aunt owned it!

  7. Allison permalink
    December 29, 2009 3:44 pm

    You remember the national anthem at the end of the TV viewing day and when color TV was a big deal.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 29, 2009 6:14 pm

      Ooooh the flashbacks Allison.

  8. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    December 30, 2009 9:44 am

    I just thought of something. You remember when microwaves didn’t brown your bacon.

  9. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    January 3, 2010 5:24 am

    I miss WordPerfect. I held on to the software as long as I could.

  10. Corrie permalink
    January 4, 2010 4:05 pm

    These are so funny! My students can’t believe that the first time I had an email account was my freshman year in college.

  11. Andrea McCaskey permalink
    January 20, 2010 10:43 pm

    These are too funny. I am soooo old school that I remember when you put a penny on the arm of the turntable near the needle to keep it from skipping when people walked near the record player.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      January 20, 2010 10:44 pm

      Is that old school? I still do that. Oh yea. That’s right. I am old school.

  12. billjurgensen permalink
    March 8, 2012 8:26 pm

    your vcr is still blinking 12:00 all the time

Leave a comment