Skip to content

Finding My Inner DJ

January 10, 2010

Watching episodes of Salt-n-Pepa’s reality show has brought back memories of my roommate’s daily morning ritual of  playing  Everybody Get Up.   Of course the Go Go’s and George Michael made their way to our cassette decks, but Salt-n-Pepa got the most play.  We found our inner hip hop DJ’s before we made the trek to the UVA grounds.  She was Melli Mel.  I was Fly Betti.

Lately several conversations have inspired me to again find that alter ego.  I am developing a presentation that includes a  love of the ’80’s.  I am looking for something to describe Bettina the interculturalist, the instructor, the dancer, the wanna be DJ, and the 40 something.  Please share your suggestions for my DJ/rap artist persona.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Allison permalink
    January 10, 2010 7:03 am

    Not sure at all that this will be helpful, but New Yorker that I am, I spent a good amount of time at the Roxy (& I didn’t even live in the immediate neighborhood then, only later). The only nightclub in Manhattan at the time that had arms detectors. Grandmaster Flash, Afrika Bambaataa & the Soulsonic Force remain faves (I am SO “old school.”). Think “Looking for the Perfect Beat?”

    Salt-n-Pepa can also provide inspiration.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      January 10, 2010 7:05 am

      That is right up my alley, Alli.

  2. Valerie Porter permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:59 am

    I was a real DJ in the late 70’s and 80’s at a University in NY (SUNY @ Stony Brook). Everyone wanted to become a DJ because it gives you “power” over people. You control every aspect of the crowd and you can make them happy or sad. The major aspect of it is that there were very few females that played colleges or clubs. Those “Lady V” days bring back such memories that I jump out of my skin everytime I think about them. So express your wanna be DJ however you feel and see the people that call themselves DJ’s now. Most of them are wanna be’s anyway, and so can you. Good Luck in your endeavors to find that niche.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      January 10, 2010 1:16 pm

      Girl – I have been a DJ on FB on Saturday mornings and occasion when the feeling hits. Me. Thanks for your comment.

  3. Marquita permalink
    January 10, 2010 12:51 pm

    Bettina, this is all news to me. You don’t have to look for it, because it never left you. You have always beent the “Dancing Hip Hop Machine”. It’s not like you are looking for the perfect beat, it’s all in your head. I see you dancing without music, beatboxing without an audience. If I had to describe you it would be the the sassy, dancing machine, who is part Angela Davis, Part Queen Latifah/Mc Lyte with a little splash of Sister Souljah….oh, I forgot, a women who is physcially so beautiful, she forget how pretty she is….just natural. Peace My Sister!
    Marquita

Leave a comment