Skip to content

Where are the Birmingham Good Samaritans?

October 28, 2009

Saw a woman trip in Five Points South this morning.  Many people in a national coffee chain sat there and continued to read their papers and drink coffee.  I was sitting in a window seat having breakfast in a locally owned restaurant.  I ran outside.  When I returned to my seat, some people commented that it was nice of me to go out there.  Others commented that they wondered why I flew out of the restaurant. Am I still in Birmingham?  Aren’t we southern?

I had flash backs of being in larger urban centers and having something similar happen to me.  People walked right over me and seemed irritated that I was in their way.  I always said,  that one of the many things I like about the south is the neighborly attitude.   Though sometimes it is annoying to have people in your business, when something happens to you, it doesn’t go unnoticed.  Have things changed?  Though Birmingham is a mid-size industrial city, we still had small town values at one point.

There were a few other people who stopped.  Just for those Birmingham stereotypers, our concerned group was multicultural.  At first glance the helpers included a black female, white male, a woman with a dark complexion and jet black hair who looked like a mix of a number of ethnic groups and a white woman.  The Southside is probably one of the most diverse areas of town.

Has indifference set in?  Why weren’t others concerned?

No comments yet

Leave a comment