Skip to content

Kahn Chow Wu Byrd

October 17, 2009

Reading Pennie of Pennedepie reminds me of the last dog that we owned–Kahn Chow Wu.  He was a beautiful Lhasa Apso that we bought in Novato, California. He was the most active of his brothers and sisters.  I liked how he jumped on the couch and dove to the floor.  I had to have him.

He was a beautiful mix of blonds and browns.  It is funny, I see a lot of women who have had their hair dyed the same color.  As a cousin to the Shitzu, Lhasa’s tend to have lots of hair.  However, if groomed properly, they are not supposed to shed.

The information book we bought about Lhasa’s said that they were lion dogs that guarded the Tibetan temples.  Kahn had to have the name of a ruler.  Of course we Anglicized the spelling.

He was the best dog.  He knew when we were sick.  He could detect people who meant harm to us.  In his final days, Kahn suffered from conditions that you see in older human beings.  We had to let him go.  My mom still has a shrine to Kahn in her house.  We miss you Kahn.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 11:36 am

    I have a 4-year old Shih Tzu, who I LOVE. Great personality, very sensitive to your moods. They are great dogs and he doesn’t shed despite all of that hair.

Leave a comment