Skip to content

Eureka! I Found Her

October 13, 2009

j0313919For years, after I was on my own, I was ready to grow out my relaxer.  I started the journey when I was about 22.  I could not find a beautician who would “do” my hair if I grew out the perm.  The lore of hair breaking off or having hair “this long” (requires a snap of the finger as you say, this long) or other God awful things that would happen if you tried to get rid of your perm kept me in misery for another 15 years.

I kept seeing this guy from the band Tekneek with a different ‘do every other week.  I finally asked, “Who does your hair?”  He mentioned Shawn.  I said, “I must meet her.”  I stopped by the shop.  I had hair that was extended almost down to my elbow at the time.  I asked, “Can you help me grow out my relaxer?”  She said, “Yes.”  She said that she would flat iron it until the perm grew out and then we would try different things.   Finding a natural hair dresser reminded me of the California state motto, “Eureka, I have found it!”  It was a reference to the gold rush.

I visited her every few months so that she could condition my hair and trim the relaxed hair.  This took place over a year or so.  She saw me through the deaths of three grandparents and a best friend.  She styled my hair for video shoots and still photos.  Eventually we tried the two strand twists.

However, I was still in search of a way to wear my hair loose and curly.  Then there was Denise.

Also see Summer Scalp Burning Hair Burning Ritual.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2009 5:30 am

    Wow I know so many women who go through this, almost weekly i hear a “i need a new” or an “I found her” story.

    It’s nice when you gt to the “I found her” stories. Congrats on your find

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 19, 2009 7:07 am

      You know it girl. I will check out your site.

  2. November 30, 2009 11:06 am

    I remember being told that my hair would break when I chose to go natural. Well it’s been over 12yrs and it has not broken yet. 🙂 I only had to wear braids when the two types of hair looked really bad because I worked in a travel agency at the time.

    I love wearing my natural hair.

  3. Kenya permalink
    March 21, 2010 6:07 am

    Great post! Its great to know that we have great and knowledgable natural hair stylists in our area when we choose to go. God was with a lot of us, because these ignorant stylists would have had us putting a perm or a texturizer in our hair.

Leave a comment