Skip to content

The New Canopy Bed

October 12, 2009

42-16587177We spent Columbus Day furniture shopping for our son.    After looking on-line and thinking how ridiculous the prices were in a well known furniture store.  I thought, “Let’s go to Sears.  That is where I got my furniture set.”

I had been sharing a bedroom with my brother for as long as I can remember.  Each time we moved– Ft. Devans, Manhatten Kansas to Hamilton Air Force Base–I roomed with my brother.    We had bunk beds.  For some reason after my maternal grandmother’s visit, I started sleeping in the guest room.  I guess I was 8 or 9.  One year, perhaps it was Christmas, my grandparents collaborated to buy my first bedroom set.  It was a beautiful canopy bed.  The furniture was white wood trimmed in gold.  The linens included a mint green sheer spread with matching canopy.

I couldn’t believe it.  My own bedroom set.  I felt like Cinderella.  No more sleep overs in the living room, my friends could sleep in my room.  No more dingy brown, orange, and green tough skin spreads.  No more twin beds.  I am sure my brother was excited too.  He was trying to get rid of my for years.  What adolescent boy wanted to continue to share a room with his sister?   To celebrate the occasion, my friends and I danced to Hotline by the Sylvers in MY ROOM!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LaVonda permalink
    October 13, 2009 9:59 am

    Love it!!! I got my furniture at Sears too! Not the princess canopy set up though. Your column took be back….Foster Sylvers was supposed to be my husband! LOL! ….hotline, hotline, calling on the hotline for your love, for your love [clap] [clap]!

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 13, 2009 11:34 am

      How could Foster Sylver have been your husband when he was going to be MINE!

Leave a comment