Skip to content

Good Hair

October 10, 2009

42-15654561I am looking forward to Chris Rock’s documentary, Good Hair.  It is a topic of daily conversation for a number of people within the African American community, but I am not sure I have seen a feature film about it.  I have mentioned in previous posts that I am approached by women everyday who tell me they wish that they could go natural, but they don’t have “good hair.”  From the trailer, it sounds like Rock’s documentary focuses on perms, weaves, and extensions. It appears that fatherhood has made Rock look at society’s messages to his daughter about beauty and perhaps his roll in perpetuating these images.

The trailer features a number of stars who tell secrets including their hair  suppliers–Indian women.  The trailer even shows Rock in India interviewing women.   He features a chemist who shares the dangers of chemicals that are used in the lucrative relaxer industry.  I am trying to get as many women with natural, nappy, or store bought hair to watch the movie and then converse about the film.

Do you have any fun facts to share about African American women and our hair?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Perez Christina permalink
    October 10, 2009 9:18 pm

    why do some african americans make such a big deal about perming or straightening one’s hair? How does straightening one’s hair have anything to do with haiting your race?

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 10, 2009 9:26 pm

      Wow Christina. There are different opinions about straightening hair and why. I read in a book about Madame CJ Walker, who is usually associated with the hot comb, that African Americans used to suffer from scalp disease and other issues that caused hairloss. Assimilating by straightening the hair was important for social mobility. I don’t think that women who straighten necessarily hate their own race. However, comfort with natural hair is an issue.

      • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
        October 13, 2009 6:38 am

        Good morning girlfriend. Keep hope alive!

  2. October 10, 2009 10:28 pm

    Please take a moment to check out my documentary film BLACK HAIR

    It is free at youtube. 6 parts including an update from London, England.

    It explores the Korean Take-over of the Black Beauty Supply and Hair biz..

    The current situation makes it hard to believe that Madame C.J. Walker once ran the whole thing.

    I am not a hater, I am a motivator.

    Plus I am a White guy who stumbled upon this, and felt it was so wrong I had to make a film about it.

    self-funded film, made from the heart.

    Can it be taken back?

    Link

  3. Denise permalink
    October 13, 2009 7:09 am

    I too am looking forward to “Good Hair”. As a hairstylist, I see many women, both natural and relaxed, who are not pleased with their hair. I think the search for “good hair” in our community is like searching for the fountain of youth. We continually try different things to get carefree styles without researching the long-term effects of those actions. I try to educate my clients on what is healthiest for their hair. I am not opposed to relaxers, dreads, weaves or wigs but we must use those items in combination with deep conditioning our hair, eating the right nutrients and knowing when to say when to the next drastic hairstyle.
    Our hair is our crowning glory and we must be protect it.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 13, 2009 7:13 am

      Denise is a biochemist and a stylist. She knows what she is talking about. She transformed my hair!

  4. October 13, 2009 1:00 pm

    Aron, I’ve seen the trailer for your film and look forward to my copy (I’ll be purchasing this week). I sent an email to you from your site also… I can’t wait on Chris Rock’s movie either. I’m anxious to see the public response, especially from women. I love black women’s hair, but my preference is natural. My wife and 2 daughters wear their hair locked. Per Bettina’s comment (However, comfort with natural hair is an issue), it takes a LOT of confidence to wear your hair natural!

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 13, 2009 1:04 pm

      I agree. It takes confidence and support from loved ones, a hair dresser and the community. I have supported many women who were going natural. They were ridiculed or told their hair was unattractive. It is more acceptable here than it used to be. I found that the Gen Y generation was the most supportive. Eventually my generation – Gen X and some Baby Boomers came aboard. It is still a struggle.

  5. Melvia permalink
    October 13, 2009 3:47 pm

    I’m looking forward to Chris Rock’s documentary! However, I don’t believe “hair issues” are unique to African American women. I would argue that, generally, hair is an important feature to women of all nationalities; and that the journey to find something that “works” (whether straight, curly, relaxed, permed, braided, locked, natural, bald, etc.) has more to do with self-acceptance, practicality, and individual style. After all, African American women were not the first to use relaxers and straightening combs.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 13, 2009 6:27 pm

      You’re absolutely right. I think this would be a good film for us to see with a group and then discuss over sushi.

  6. October 13, 2009 4:33 pm

    Having no father, I vividly recall my mom spending many hours at the local hairdresser’s homes in the dirt-road communities of SW Alabama whenever she didn’t use the straightening combs herself on the stove. The appreciation I have for black women definitely is rooted in those childhood parlor visits.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 13, 2009 6:27 pm

      I think you are the first to address the female rite of passage of sitting at the stove or visiting the beauty parlor. Though the ritual was often painful, it was something that most African American women can identify with. It is still a dominate topic of conversation. It is an experience that we share. I met three of my best friends in college as I was searching for ultra sheen to condition my hair.

Leave a comment