Skip to content

Getting to the Root of Natural Hair

May 30, 2011

Earlier this month, I participated in a gathering focused upon women with natural hair. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the concept, it is referring to African American women who have rejected the use of chemical hair relaxers. For me, it means discontinuing the use of straighteners including hot combs and flat irons. It means letting my natural curl pattern show. About five years ago, after several years of being natural, I shifted my focus to curly hair. My friend and hair dresser, Denise McFadden, recommended I visit a curly hair salon in New York. Women from different ethnic backgrounds patronize the salon.  However, I can identify with women who are transitioning from relaxed to natural hair.

Although I had attended a Natural Daze gathering last year with a different group of women, I wasn’t sure what to expect. What did we have in common other than the fact that our hair was natural?  I was late due to a prior commitment. When I arrived, I was excited to see three women with natural hair leaving the venue. Was there an instant bond just because of our hair? As I entered the venue, it did not take long to find the others. This sea of women with their locks in several styles were chatting, laughing and cutting up.

There were several women present that I had met previously. Some with whom I had bonded because of natural hair and others from random settings. My natural hair partner was there. I was glad to see a younger friend I had met a few years prior because of our hair.  She was one of the organizers and one of the main reasons I decided to attend.

So what was the connection between women with natural hair?  Are there particular characteristics, values or commonalities among women who have rejected the traditional relaxer?  I was at the function for about 1.5 hours.  I don’t think that I had a single conversation about hair.  I observed a few, but most people were conversing about other things such as work, personal lives, relationships and various life experiences.  I look forward to the next gathering of the Birmingham Natural Beauties and getting to know the stories behind the hair.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 6:50 am

    Awesome Bettina!!! We are doing another one in June! Hope you can make it!

Leave a comment