Skip to content

Image of a 40 Something

February 20, 2010
tags: ,

I keep meeting 20 and 30 somethings who can’t believe I am 40+.  Of course I take it as a compliment, however,I wonder what their image is of someone in their 40’s. I am trying to think about my image of people in their 40’s before I got to this point.   My cousins and their friends have aged pretty slowly I guess.  It is hard to tell who is what age after a certain point.  Most of my friends from high school and college haven’t changed that much from 30 – 40.  We have gained a little weight and added a few gray hairs, but we are recognizable.   Perhaps illness or life circumstances have taken their toll on some high school and college classmates.  I think motherhood has accelerated the aging process.

What comes to mind when you think of 40?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Floyd Worsley, Sr. permalink
    February 20, 2010 8:51 am

    There’s a “senior living” apartment complex not to far from where I live in Houston, TX. It is geared towards individuals 55 and older. I had to realize that I’m closer to that age (14 years) than I am from being considered an adult (23 years). That’s very frightening!

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      February 20, 2010 12:01 pm

      I hear ya. The new box that I have to check now that I am over 40 still trips me out.

  2. Kerri permalink
    February 20, 2010 11:37 am

    When I was a young girl, I used to think 40 year old people were old. I think that mindset came from the fact that my parents were 44 and 46 when I was born — and we all know children think their parents are old. Now, as I gracely approach 40, I think 40 is fabulous. You are at a time in your life where you have lived and experience and you know better, so now you do better. My focus now is enjoying life and fulfilling self (without being selfish).

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      February 20, 2010 12:01 pm

      Thanks Kerri. I think that some of my students have parents that are close to me in age so they don’t imagine that I am like their parents.

  3. February 22, 2010 1:43 am

    I remember growing up looking forward to being 32 in particular. A big part of it was a cousin of mine and her husband were that age and super-cool. You’re old enough that you’re established in your job and have money to do stuff but young enough that you can still have fun. Depending on how well you have maintained yourself (i.e., how healthy you are) then 40 can be a lot like 32, but little aches and pains start to creep in around 40. You can still have fun; you just have to be smart about it. Speaking of smart, a 40+ year oughtta know to be asleep by now. Catch y’all later.

  4. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    February 22, 2010 5:49 am

    Hey G. You ain’t never lied man. Had to start wearing glasses at 40. Hard to tell which aches and pains are the result of childbirth and which ones are due to being 40+.

  5. March 21, 2010 7:42 pm

    I remember having a conversation with one of my friends from high school. We were talking about how old we would be in the year 2000. (mind you this conversation took place in 1985) I remember thinking, “Wow we will be so old!” Well year 2000 was 10 years ago and I couldn’t have been more wrong about my life now.
    I was really excited about turning 40! It fealt like a rite of passage. I am so at Peace with myself, my life and my intentions. The years from 15 to now have truly blessed me and have allowed me to bless others.
    Forty is the most Fabulous I have Ever Felt!

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      March 21, 2010 9:07 pm

      You are fabulous. You haven’t changed a bit.

Leave a comment