Skip to content

Alabama-Auburn Country

November 8, 2009

CB022359If you live in Alabama, you generally have to choose an affiliation.  Upon meeting someone new, an Alabamian usually asks where you go to church and soon after you must divulge whether or not you are an Alabama or Auburn fan.  Even if you have never set foot on either campus or your funds went to Tuskegee, Birmingham-Southern or UAB,  you generally have to choose.  Now don’t get , me wrong.  The SWAC (Southwestern Athletic Conference) is well represented in Alabama.  There are  few undercoverACC fans running around.  However, Alabama-Auburn culture is dominant.

Give a shout out to your favorite team.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    November 8, 2009 7:39 am

    The Byrd family favored Auburn over Alabama since the town of Auburn is where the Byrd legacy begins. I converted when I married an Alabama fan.

  2. November 8, 2009 9:13 am

    I graduated from Alabama in 1977. Since I was in the Million Dollar Band, played my little clarinet and did not miss a game for 4 years the phrase, “Roooooooooooooll Tide Roll!” is ingrained in my psyche with melody and rythmn. “Are you ready Alabama…………Hell Yeah!”
    (I am not using profanity for those of you who do not go to Bama games-it’s a cheer)

  3. November 30, 2009 12:00 am

    Im a 20 year old native Alabamaian and I was brought up being told that its all about Crimson Tide. Now Im the biggest Tide fan ever. I was doing a happy dance after the game friday.

  4. December 1, 2009 3:45 am

    I am an EXTREMELY proud second generation Tuskegeean. Every member of my immediate family is a Tuskegee grad. Due to our proximity to Auburn and the fact that they had a Wal-Mart, we met friends at AU and thus must root for them in the Iron Bowl. However, I root the hardest for Tuskegee at the Turkey Day Classic. Pics from this year are on my blog at: http://corettaselegantevents.blogspot.com/2009/11/turkey-day-classic-fun.html. My Tuskegee Pride tribute after Homecoming is here: http://corettaselegantevents.blogspot.com/2009/11/tuskegee-pride.html. Go ‘Skegee!! Congrats on your Blogs Her Color feature.

Leave a comment