Skip to content

Re-Evaluating Career Goals After Layoffs

August 17, 2009

I got a call a few weeks ago from a friend who left a message saying, “I am just calling to say hello.”  I immediately knew something was wrong.  Like many of my college friends, we seldom speak during the day and the calls usually take place on the cell phone.  It was a call that I had received on several occassions over the last few months.  Another layoff.  The companies that they had dedicated their lives to let them go.  Some of them are getting outplacement services, some of them aren’t.  Almost all of them are taking the time to re-evaluate what they want to do with their lives. 

The UVa alumni association forwarded a timely post to our LinkedIn group.  A former Lehmen Brothers exec shares his success story on the blog Laid Off and Looking from the Wall Street Journal. I am starting a  Re-engineer Your Career  (RYC) group in Birmingham for the unemployed or underemployed that have been out of college for at least 10 years.  If you are interested, please let me know via email to bbyrdgiles@yahoo.com.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    August 17, 2009 7:20 pm

    If you don’t mind, please send the following information with your email response:

    How long have you been un/underemployed?

    Best time to meet 9a 10a 11a 12p Other (Suggest a time)

    Best day: M W F Other (please specify)____

    Needs (Everyone needs a job, so what do you feel you need to get you there?): Resume critique

    Support Networking Navigating the new on-line job market?

    Please tell me anything else you want me to know about you.

    Email bbyrdgiles@yahoo.com

Leave a comment