Skip to content

I’m not unorganized, just organizationally challenged

December 14, 2009

I am sitting here thinking about those super organized moms who write about organizational techniques for others.   NONE of their suggestions ever work for my child.    For example, some moms suggest planning outfits for a week and putting them in containers organized by days of the week .  I can plan his outfits for the whole week, but our latest battle is that he wants to wear certain colors on certain days. I open the drawer, he chooses a shirt and then he chooses his matching pants.

So do those moms have perfect children that just do what they say? I try to give him freedom and flexibility and allow him to express himself and communicate to me colors or images on his shirts, etc. This does not meet with any of the organized mom articles.   It actually takes less time than the battle.

My son’s doctor suggests for his sake and mine that we choose our battles.  Who writes those things? Perhaps I am just a softy.  I forgot, my mom was one of those super organized moms and she is the daughter of one.  Oh well, I guess it really isn’t genetic.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 2:05 pm

    You’re not a softy. I know exactly how you feel. With my two year old and four year old girls – clothing will be the death of me! With my youngest we deal with tantrums until we find just the “perfect” shirt. If I hear, “No, momma, dis one’s not da puwfect shirt,” one more time…I might burst! The trick for me is limiting choices. I haven’t tried laying out a week’s worth of outfits yet, but I don’t think it’s a bad idea. I could offer one or two outfit options and then move on. With my four year old – same idea – though I’m starting to know her criteria. We’ll have no trouble with getting her dressed anymore if only I’ll let her wear a purple shirt and jeans EVERYDAY!

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 14, 2009 5:41 pm

      Alexis – LOL. I miss you girl.

  2. Corrie permalink
    December 14, 2009 4:40 pm

    As I’m preparing to take on the role of step-mom to FOUR, I am learning more and more that one must choose her battles! From table manners to clothing choices to grammar and much more. 🙂

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      December 14, 2009 5:39 pm

      Didn’t realize you are going to be a stepmom. I bet you’re great at it.

Leave a comment