Skip to content

Tahiera Brown on Domestic Violence

October 7, 2009

You never know what life may bring to you.  I have never had the opportunity to chat with Tahiera Brown, author of Annihilator of Innocence, but we are friends on Facebook.  I had seen her in the NBC 13 studio during the Women’s Fund blogathon but she was being interviewed by the professionals so I didn’t get a chance to speak with her.  I was feverishly trying to complete a blogpost so I could pick up my son and there she was sitting next to me.  She sat down for a few minutes and shared an amazing story of survival and renewal.

BB-G: Why are you participating in the Voices Against Violence Initiative?

TB:  I am here to support the Blogathon hoping that our presence will be able to help victims of violence–domestic, teen…other types of violence.  We need to work on several issues surrounding violence.  I thought it was a privilege to be asked.

BB-G:  What would you like the blogsaphere to know?

TB:  As a domestic violence survivor, it was very difficult for me when I was trying to figure out how to survive.  There were limited organizations to help us.  I want to send a message to those who are being victimized that there are resources available to them.

BB-G:  How will the Blogathon help?

TB:  I believe the Blogathon will help: 1) To educate the public.  With public awareness, more people will become involved.  2) To raise funds to help organizations such as the police department, the YWCA, therapists, and many others.

BB-G:  How did you break the silence about your victimization?

TB:  I wrote a book.  With that book, I travel around the country speaking on issues surrounding domestic violence.  Originally, I was afraid.  I was speaking as a victim.  I needed to overcome it to help survivors.  I made myself available to the public and shared my story.  That is the only time I gave a voice to my situation and all the causes related to domestic violence.

BB-G:  I had an opportunity to read excerpts from Annihilator of Innocence.  My husband bought a copy of the book for me when you spoke to the Vulcan Kiwanis Club.  I was captivated and horrified that you were victimized in your home as a child and as a married woman.  I encourage everyone to read the book.  With limited time and space, what would you like to leave with the general public?

TB:  My line of survival is, “I was once a victim.  I am now a survivor. ”  When you make that choice of words, life is not always easy, but you can overcome any obstacle that comes along in your life.

Click here to donate to Voices Against Violence.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Trish Coghlan permalink
    October 7, 2009 6:21 pm

    These are reasons that we need to educate our children – boys and girls … respect. Respect for themselves, respect for each other, respect for dignity and life. One way to reach girls is through scouting. Girl Scouts teaches girls to build courage, confidence and character. Our children are the future leaders of our community. Let’s help them not repeat the ills of the past.

    • Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
      October 7, 2009 6:28 pm

      You are absolutely right. I attribute a number of skills, qualities and beliefs to the Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts. My mom was a Den Mother so I participated in both.

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging Against Violence Against Women « A. Fine Blog

Leave a comment