Skip to content

What’s Up with Low Voter Turnout?

August 26, 2009

j0384726When I was of age to vote, my grandfathers and several elders in the family called to ask when I was registering to vote.  It was a rite of passage.  Though not famous for activism, the elders taught me never to take voting for granted.  It was a right that had been fought for.  It was a privilege that had been short lived.  Our generation was not to take it for granted. 

I usually vote at as soon as the polls open.   For several years, Granddaddy called early in the morning so we could discuss who we were voting for.  Yesterday, I felt guilty for voting for City Council and the School Board after 3:00 p.m.  Yesterday’s results revealed a low voter turnout.  What prevents people from exercising their right to vote?

Click here for election results.

No comments yet

Leave a comment