Skip to content

Feeling Nostalgic for Spats Restaurant

August 8, 2009

On yesterday, I was trying to avoid stores that had “super” or “big” in them.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t find what I needed and was pressed for time, so I decided to pull into the Big K-Mart on Greensprings.  As I approached a certain area of the store, I thought “Man, I miss Spats.”  I never knew what happened to it.  Spats closed and K-Mart moved in.  

Do you remember Spats?  During its heyday, I was under 21 so I truly went there for the food.  I usually had a Shirley Temple or non-alcholic strawberry daiquiri.   It was the place to be for my best friend in high school and me. We usually stopped by Spats after athletic events and even the Debutant’s ball.  No, we weren’t Debs, but we sure did love the theme parties. 

 Eventually, my husband and I started meeting there while we were dating.  I guess it is a sign of age when everywhere you turn, you stop and think, “I remember what used to be there.”  Please share your memories of Spats.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Anja Weber permalink
    January 29, 2010 6:22 pm

    I remember Spats very well and I am sorry to hear that it closed and a K-Mart – of all places – moved in. What a disgrace. I used to go there many times with my husband and my parents-in-law. They had the best hamburgers and, like you, I always had a Shirley Temple there also. Noboday made ’em like they did. I have no idea why I just thought of Spats, it’s 1:30 am and I am not hungry at all. I just googled it. I now live in Germany and we do have fast food hamburger places here such as McD and BK but nothing close to Spats. Too bad. I was hoping to go there on my next trip to the US.

  2. daonne huff permalink
    December 11, 2010 10:23 am

    I just thought of Spats late last night. I think about that place every now and then. Although when I went to Spats I was in elementary school so my memory is a bit foggy… Does anyone know how long it was open?

  3. Amelia Day permalink
    January 6, 2012 10:24 pm

    I ride by where Spat’s used to be quite a lot. It’s still one of my all time favorites. I remember the Shirley’s Curls onion rings, beer-battered mushrooms with horseradish sauce, steak-kabobs and of course the original Long Island Tea in mason jars – now I’m really telling my age! I have many fond memories of great times with friends there.

    • January 7, 2013 9:02 am

      Green Springs has really changed. There seem to be few unique restaurants in the metro area.

  4. boat captain tom permalink
    December 27, 2012 11:28 am

    I lived in Homewood in the early 80’s. Used to hang out at Spats, loved the place !! Also would go to Baby Does Matchless Mind on top of the mountain………..

    • January 7, 2013 9:00 am

      Wow. I LOVED Baby Does. Unless you are a member of The Club, I don’t think there is anywhere else on Red Mountain to eat and have that kind of atmosphere. My grandparents and I used to enjoy the seafood brunch on the weekends.

  5. Noah permalink
    December 31, 2012 12:35 pm

    I was a waiter at Spats while in college, ’89 to ’90 or so. Fun times. Big strong drinks in those mason jars, managers that drank on the job, or afterwards with us and the staff. Not surprising it went under eventually. I’m in Atlanta now and within the last 2 years or so I ran into one of the bartenders I used to work with there, Craig.

    • January 7, 2013 8:59 am

      I thought the food was great. It was fun to just stop in and soak in the atmosphere.

  6. Bona permalink
    January 7, 2013 6:45 am

    Spats just crossed my mind; I wound up here after searching for it on Google. I graduated from Birmingham-Southern College in 1982. Since the drinking age was 19 at that time…and it was the late 1970’s and early 1980’s, drinking was a big (too big!!) part of college life. Spats was a favorite hangout due to their great drinks and food…..unfortunately I can’t remember too many details other than it was a blast. God only knows (literally) how we made it back to campus sometimes.

    Now I’m in Atlanta with grown and teenage children….thank goodness the drinking age is higher and 3 for 1 drinks are outlawed!

  7. Betty Hill permalink
    January 26, 2013 8:50 pm

    Oh I remember it well. The crew that worked at Casa Tampico would meet at Spats on Sundays after we we would play another restaurant in softball for a keg of beer, Good times….

  8. February 12, 2013 9:26 pm

    I was the GM of Spats from 1980 to 1982, Ron Milan was also there wiith herbie , and Pete Langlois. I am still in the restaurant business, still serving mason jars of long island teas, my wife was a bartender at Baby Does., Dan Empson

    • February 12, 2013 9:45 pm

      Man. Thanks for commenting. I have gotten more comments on this post than any other. How did you find this post?

  9. February 12, 2013 10:03 pm

    Random searching of restaurants that I have ran, Spats was some of the best memories of the biz, I really enjoyed the football saturdays, and the back room with the pinball machines. I currently own a restaurant/ bar in florida and many of those drinks on mason jars and kabobs are on my menu now. The owners the Lipman brothers were great.

Leave a comment